Backup Twitter data and then Deactivate or Delete Twitter account


Twitter is a microblogging social networking site that allows small posts to be shared with family, friends, and any other person following you on Twitter. The short posts are known as “tweets”, are more famous news comments and other informative messages. Even though Twitter has currently millions of active users, the popularity of this social networking site has decreased with the passage of time, there is still life in this old bee.

Twitter_Logo Influencer

Undoubtedly this is an overwhelming and addictive platform that can make you accustomed to checking updates and reading random tweets on Twitter. Whatever the reason, if you are willing to delete your Twitter account permanently and get rid of it, then here you go. This post will guide you on how to deactivate and delete your Twitter account permanently.

How to Backup Twitter data

Before you go to the steps, we recommend you take a backup of your Twitter account for future reference.

The backup feature of the Twitter account is helpful in many ways. It can help in case of mobile-phone is lost or stolen and even in the case of changing the handset. The backup facility does not let the Twitter scenario change for the user in any case.

Delete your Twitter account permanently

Follow these simple steps to take the backup of your Twitter account:

  • Open your Twitter account.
  • On the “home page” click on the More option at the left panel.
  • Select Settings and privacy from the menu.
  • Head to Your account and choose the “Download an archive of your data” option.
  • Now click on the Request archive button to request a ZIP file with an archive of your data. Once the archive of the data will be ready to download, Twitter will get an in-app notification to you.

Read: Best online tools & software to delete your Twitter tweets in bulk.

How to Deactivate or Delete Twitter Account

How to Delete your Twitter account permanently

After taking a successful backup of your files, proceed to delete your Twitter account permanently. The process is divided into two parts.

  1. Deactivate
  2. Delete

Let us first see how to deactivate the Twitter account.

Log in to your Twitter account and open the homepage. On the homepage click on the More option on the left-hand side. Go to Settings and privacy.

Inside Settings and privacy, select Your account and scroll down to Deactivate your account. On the next page, go to the bottom of the page and click Deactivate.

The next step is to Confirm your password, finally, click the Deactivate button to delete your account.

Now you have successfully deactivated your Twitter account but this account is yet not permanently deleted.

The account will take 30 days to get deleted meanwhile, the user may retrieve his/her Twitter account. Data of the user’s account will be stored with Twitter for 18 months and later it will be completely erased.

Hope it helps!

Twitter_Logo Influencer

Source link

Jacob MORRIS

Jacob MORRIS

MORRIS is an impassioned technology writer. He always inspires technologists with his innovative thinking and practical approach. A go-to personality for every Technical problem, no doubt, the chief problem-solver!

Leave a Reply